On this page: Award categories | Eligibility | Additional rules | Previous year's winners

RNAO's annual Media Awards honours journalists for outstanding work that helps Ontarians better understand nursing and health care.

Stories published or broadcast in Ontario during the 2021 calendar year are eligible. Entries are scored by an independent panel of judges consisting of nurses and journalists.

Status: Closed

Award categories

In these categories, entries will be judged on news value, information and storytelling.

Category Awards
Daily newspaper Best news coverage

Best in-depth feature or series

Community newspaper Best news coverage

Best in-depth feature or series

Radio Best news coverage

Best in-depth feature or series

Television Best news coverage

Best in-depth feature or series

Online Best story

Best in-depth feature or series


  • All entries must be submitted by the deadline via the online submission form.
  • Limit of one entry per person. Entrants may not submit a single entry to multiple categories.
  • Winners of the last year's awards are not eligible.
  • Entries must be journalistic in nature, based on research and interviews. Opinion pieces and academic articles are not eligible.
  • Materials prepared by RNAO staff or staff of health-related associations or organizations are not eligible.
  • Trade publications, textbooks, or video/audio productions intended for health-care practitioners or audiences are not eligible.

How to apply

Icon of documents

For print entries, please send PDF scans of the original article. Please also include a link if the story appears online.

Icon of communications tower

For broadcast submissions, links and/or electronic audio or video files are preferred.

Additional rules

  • There is no entry fee.
  • If nominating a story on behalf of a journalist, you must inform the nominee prior to submission.
  •  A benchmark cumulative score will be determined before judging commences, and winning entries must surpass this predetermined score to be eligible. If no article in a particular category surpasses this benchmark, no award shall be given out.
  • By applying for an award, you consent to RNAO using the contents of your submission to publicize the awards competition.

Contact us

Winners are announced in the spring, and the awards are handed out at RNAO's Annual General Meeting in June 2022.

For more information, contact Victoria Alarcon at 1-800-268-7199 ext. 211 and Marion Zych at 1-800-268-7199, ext. 209.

Previous year's winners

Community newspaper – Best in-depth feature or series

Sneh Duggal
Sneh Duggal, QP Briefing

Sneh Duggal is a reporter with Queen’s Park Briefing, providing in-depth coverage on a range of topics related to Ontario politics.

Daily newspaper – Best in-depth feature or series

Elizabeth Payne
Elizabeth Payne, The Ottawa Citizen

Elizabeth Payne is a health reporter for The Ottawa Citizen who has been covering COVID-19 full time since her earliest story on the coming global pandemic was published on Jan. 6, 2020.

Online – Best in-depth feature or series

Lauren Pelley
Lauren Pelley, CBC News

Lauren Pelley is a reporter for CBC News in Toronto who has been covering the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on the health-care system since early 2020, filing stories for The National, CBC Radio, CBC Toronto, and CBC's national health unit.

Online – Best story

Olivia Bowden
Olivia Bowden, Global News

Olivia Bowden is a Toronto journalist who has focused much of her work on stories that impact communities of colour and women in Canada. She is currently a staff reporter at The Toronto Star.

Patrick Cain
Patrick Cain, Global News

Patrick Cain has been an online writer and editor in Toronto since 2001, at thestar.com, Open File, and Global News, where he was a national online reporter until August 2020.

Radio – Best in-depth feature or series

Jason Chapman
Jason Chapman, Global News

Jason Chapman is the executive producer of Global News Radio 640 Toronto. He joined the 640 team five years ago. He's thrilled to work with a team of journalists across Ontario who are committed to telling the stories that matter most. 

Scott Monich
Scott Monich, Global News

Scott Monich is the news director at Global News Radio 980 CFPL and has worked at the station for over 15 years. Scott also teaches broadcast journalism students as a sessional instructor at Fanshawe College.

Briana Carnegie
Briana Carnegie, Global News

Briana Carnegie is a reporter for Global News Radio 640 Toronto and a network content producer for Global News. She has the responsibility of circulating local and national content from reporters for use on Corus radio stations across the country.

Shiona Thompson
Shiona Thompson, Global News

Shiona Thompson is the senior news anchor for Global News Radio Hamilton 900 CHML. She is into her third decade as a broadcast journalist, most of that time working in Hamilton.

Dave Woodward
Dave Woodard, Global News

Dave Woodard is a senior reporter at Global News Radio 640 Toronto. Dave has worked at news talk stations across the country over the last 20 years with stops in St. Catharines, Kelowna, B.C. and Toronto.

Sandy Salerno
Sandy Salerno, Global News

Sandy Salerno is a reporter at Global News Radio 640 Toronto. Sandy has spent most of her career waking up while most people are sleeping.

Sheba Siddiqui
Sheba Siddiqui, Global News

Sheba Siddiqui is a producer with Global News Radio 640 Toronto. Every day, Sheba seeks out challenging perspectives and voices that need to be heard in exploring the stories of the hour.

Lisa Polewski
Lisa Polewski, Global News

Lisa Polewski is a reporter at Global News Radio 900 CHML and is a dedicated reporter in her hometown of Hamilton, Ontario. A graduate of McMaster University and Mohawk College, Lisa has worked at CHML since 2015, where she started as a board operator.

Andrew Graham
Andrew Graham, Global News

Andrew Graham is a reporter with Global News Radio 980 CFPL and joined Global News while midway through his undergraduate degree, working part time between classes at Western University and Fanshawe College.

Rock Zamperin
Rick Zamperin, Global News

Rick Zamperin is the assistant program, news and senior sports director at Global News Radio Hamilton 900 CHML. Rick has been in the broadcast journalism industry for nearly a quarter century, including 20 years at Global News Radio 900 CHML.

Television – Best news coverage

Avis Favaro
Avis Favaro, CTV National News

Avis Favaro is Canada’s longest serving television medical correspondent. She began covering health stories for Global Television followed by a move to CTV News in 1992.

Elizabeth St. Philip
Elizabeth St. Philip, CTV National News

Elizabeth St. Philip is a senior producer at CTV National News where she covers medical stories for the national newscast and the investigative show CTV W5.

Television – Best in-depth feature or series

Avery Haines, CTV W5

Bringing more than 30 years of exceptional experience in Canadian journalism, Avery Haines has traveled across Canada and around the world as an investigative correspondent for CTV W5 since 2017.

Paul Haber, CTV W5

Paul Haber is a producer at CTV W5.

Brett Mitchell, CTV W5

Brett Mitchell is an award-winning journalist who has been with Canada’s most-watched documentary series, CTV W5, for more than 20 years.

Jerry Vienneau, CTV W5

Jerry Vienneau is a CSA winning camera operator.

André Lapalme, CTV W5

André Lapalme is a long-time editor at CTV W5.