The Algoma Chapter executive includes Karen Belanger, Lorena Bressan, Adrienne Kappes, Jessica Dugas, Lyndsay Suurna, Irene Amadu-Azomani, Olivia Babic and J’aime-Rose Ferris. Liliana Bressan is the Region 11 board representative involved in the work of the chapter. As a collective, the group brings nursing experience from long-term care, academia, public health and acute care. Winning the Chapter of the Year award brought feelings of excitement, honour and gratitude. Most of the executive joined within the last two years. The group has worked hard to connect NPs, RNs and nursing students to RNAO resources and more. The creativity keeps climbing and the chapter is always looking for new ways to advocate for nursing and health. Despite COVID-19, the chapter hosted online events to promote wellness, and stepped up political action by focusing on mental health supports for nurses, students and community members. Thank you for recognizing our small but mighty efforts this year.

The Chapter of the Year award goes to a chapter or region without chapters (RWC) that best exemplifies a commitment to RNAO through active promotion, participation and initiation of projects that promote healthy public policy and the role of the RN or NP in its region. The chapter or RWC uses a variety of media and communications tools to effectively engage with its region, influence decision-makers, mobilize RNs/NPs to take action, and increase membership. This chapter or RWC demonstrates strong leadership in its nursing and health-care community, and its activities reflect RNAO's ENDs.