Nursing Now Ontario Awards

The Nursing Now Ontario Awards celebrate the contribution of nurses who improve the health outcomes of Ontarians and who contribute to nursing practice. Awards are presented to one winner in three categories: nurse practitioner (NP), registered nurse (RN) and registered practical nurse (RPN).

Entries will be judged by a volunteer panel of nurses. The three awards will be presented during Nursing Week May 6–12, 2022. 

The Nursing Now Ontario Awards leverages and supports the goals of the Nursing Now campaign, a global initiative led by the World Health Organization and the International Council of Nurses, aimed at raising the profile and status of nursing. The campaign calls on governments, health professionals and service users to value nurses and champion their leadership in providing the best quality of care. It's about supporting nurses to lead, to learn and to strengthen the profession, in both clinical practice and political leadership.

View the flyer

Status:  Open
Application due:  Friday, Feb. 25, 2022

Nominate a nurse

RNAO logo
Ontario Nurses Association

2021 winners:

NP category
Aric Rankin
Aric Rankin, De dwa da dehs nye>s Aboriginal Health Centre

The recipient of 2021's NP category in the Nursing Now Ontario Awards is Aric Rankin. For the past 10 years, Rankin has worked at De dwa da dehs nye > Aboriginal Health Centre in Hamilton as a primary care NP.

RN category
Mahoganie Hines
Mahoganie Hines, Palliative Care Consultants Network

A passionate and dedicated advocate for greater equity in public health policies, 2021’s RN recipient of the second-annual Nursing Now Ontario Awards is Mahoganie Hines.

RPN category
Sheri Bruder
Sheri Bruder

Sheri Bruder is the RPN recipient of the 2021 Nursing Now Ontario Awards. Bruder is a mentor, role-model, and a trailblazer with an impeccable work ethic.