International Advisory Council

The International Advisory Council is comprised of experts in big data, quality improvement, performance measurement. The data system was launched in 2012 for Best Practice Spotlight Organizations® (BPSO®) to monitor and measure the impact of best practice guidelines (BPG).

Group of IAC members at June 2023 meeting

*Image taken at June 2023 NQuIRE IAC meeting.

The NQuIRE International Advisory Council (IAC) seeks to:

  • inform on innovation and emerging opportunities to advance health systems
  • provide advice on the development, implementation and evaluation of RNAO's best practice guidelines
  • identify areas to optimize clinical, organizational and health system outcomes
  • contribute to NQuIRE data architecture, data analysis and triangulation
  • recommend strategies that contribute to knowledge generation and translation, and practice sustainability

Current members

The IAC includes representatives from health and academic organizations in North America and abroad, including Spain and France.  The council’s co-chairs are RNAO CEO Dr. Doris Grinspun and Dr. John Lavis, professor in the department of health evidence and impact at McMaster University, and head of RISE.

Dr. Doris Grinspun

Dr.  Doris Grinspun

RN, BScN, MSN, PhD, LLD(hon), Dr(hc), DHC, DHC, FAAN, FCAN, O.ONT.
Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO)

John Lavis

Dr.  John Lavis

McMaster Health Forum
World Health Organization Collaborating Centre on Evidence-Informed Policy

More info
Chantal Couris

Dr.  Chantal Couris

Manager, HHR Data Integration, Methods and Tools
Canadian Institute for Health Information

Amelia Latu Afuhaamango Tuipulotu

Dr.   Amelia Latu Afuhaamango Tuipulotu

Chief nursing officer
World Health Organization

David Kaplan

Dr.  David Kaplan

Vice president
Ontario Health

Niek Klazinga

Dr.  Niek Klazinga

Associate Professor
University Medical Cente - University of Amsterdam

More info
Teresa Moreno-Casbas

Dr.  Teresa Moreno-Casbas

Unit for Coordination and Development of Nursing Research (Investén-isciii)

Patricia Patrician

Dr.   Patricia Patrician

Professor and Rachel Z. Booth Endowed Chair in Nursing

Anne Sales

Dr.  Anne Sales

University of Missouri

More info
Nancy Santesso

Dr.  Nancy Santesso

Associate Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impact
McMaster University

More info
Dr. Janet Squires

Dr.  Janet Squires

University of Ottawa School of Nursing

More info
Dr. Jennifer Zelmer

Dr.  Jennifer Zelmer

Adjunct assistant professor
University of Victoria
Healthcare Excellence Canada