Registed Nurses' Association of Ontario


RNAO celebrates journalists with annual Media Awards


TORONTO, March 5, 2018 – The winners of the Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario's (RNAO) annual Media Awards have been announced, honouring a group of outstanding Ontario journalists for bringing important nursing, health and health-care stories to light.

Journalists from the nation's capital shone particularly brightly in this year's competition, with CBC Ottawa, the Ottawa Citizen and Metro News Ottawa each snagging an award. Other new outlets honoured this year include the Burlington Post, CBC Radio's Now or Never, the London Free Press and Postmedia.

"As an organization that values evidence and encourages social and political discourse, RNAO knows that journalism is an essential part of a healthy society," says RNAO President Carol Timmings. "So I'd like to congratulate each of our winners for keeping Ontario informed and engaged."

This year, RNAO is handing out six Media Awards for print, radio, television and online stories. They cover a wide range of topics, including health care for Syrian refugees, a pop-up supervised injection service for people in Ottawa who inject drugs, and the challenges of living with obsessive compulsive disorder.

"Our winning journalists delved into such diverse topics, just as they do every year," says RNAO CEO Doris Grinspun. "Their impressive work showcases how health and health-care issues affect everyone in Ontario, and highlights the need for healthy public policy. Kudos to this year's Media Awards winners."

Nominations were judged by a panel of nurses and journalists. Awards will be handed out at the president's banquet following RNAO's 93rd Annual General Meeting on Friday, April 20 in Toronto.

Here is the full list of RNAO Media Award winners:

Kathy Yanchus
Burlington Post
Community newspaper: Best in-depth feature or series

Andrew Duffy
Ottawa Citizen
Daily newspaper: Best in-depth feature or series

Kieran Delamont
Metro News Ottawa
Daily newspaper: Best news coverage

Jane Sims, Morris Lamont, Brice Hall and Mike Faille
London Free Press and Postmedia
Online: Best story

Now or Never
CBC Radio
Radio: Best in-depth feature or series

Adele Cardamone-Martel, Adrian Harewood, Emilien Juteau and Gerry Buffet
CBC Ottawa
Television: Best in-depth feature or series

RNAO is the professional association representing registered nurses, nurse practitioners, and nursing students in Ontario. Since 1925, RNAO has advocated for healthy public policy, promoted excellence in nursing practice, increased nurses’ contribution to shaping the health-care system, and influenced decisions that affect nurses and the public they serve. For more information about RNAO, visit our website at or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information, please contact:

Daniel Punch
Senior Communications Officer/Writer, RNAO
Tel: 416-408-5606 / 1-800-268-7199, ext. 250