Registed Nurses' Association of Ontario


Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario congratulates journalists who are awarded annual health-care awards

TORONTO, March 20, 2012 – The Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario (RNAO) is pleased to announce this year’s winners of the association’s annual Awards for Excellence in Health-Care Reporting. Winning submissions that captured the judges’ interest covered a variety of topics – from the transformative effects of chronic pain, to an in-depth feature detailing teen drug use in the Durham region. A total of 39 radio, newspaper and television entries were received from media outlets across Ontario. The awards will be presented during the President’s Banquet at RNAO’s Annual General Meeting in Toronto on Friday, April 27. The winners are:
  • Joanne Laucius, of the Ottawa Citizen, wins the daily newspaper, best in-depth feature award for her thorough look into the ever-growing pink ribbon campaign, and how it is facing increasing criticism.
  • Marcia Kaye explores facts versus fiction in her article about childhood immunizations for Today’s Parent magazine. Her piece wins the magazine, best story honour.
  • Ann Silversides wins the radio, best in-depth feature award for her story that aired on CBC’s The Current about the effects of chronic pain.
  • Elizabeth St. Phillip and Avis Favaro, both of CTV National News, are the recipients of the television, best news story award for their tale of two seniors facing health battles and financial struggles. The story details the issue of poverty among the Canadian senior population.
  • Steve Buist and Teri Pecoskie, from the Hamilton Spectator, each pick up the daily newspaper, best series award for their investigation into the link between the health of mothers and their babies, and poverty and poor health and social outcomes in Ontario. The winning submission is an expansion of findings highlighted in the Spectator’s 2010 Code Red series.
  • Jillian Follert, Melissa Mancini and Jennifer O’Meara, writing for Metroland Media Group’s Durham division, capture the community newspaper, best in-depth feature award for their special report that chronicles teen drug use in the Durham region.
  • Anna Maria Tremonti, Pam Bertrand, Jennifer Moroz, Elizabeth Hoath and Shannon Higgins of CBC Radio One’s The Current, win the radio, best news story award for their piece called “Assisted suicide returns to Canadian courts.”
  • Ioanna Roumeliotis, of CBC Television’s The National, wins the television, best in-depth feature award for her piece on youth and mental health issues.
“We are proud to acknowledge journalists whose work has shaped dialogue about contemporary health and health-care issues,” says RNAO President David McNeil. “These outstanding stories have highlighted key issues in Ontario – from teen mental health, to the issue of poverty among the senior population.” “These journalists tackled tough issues, like teen drug use, with level-headed, balanced, in-depth reporting that seeks to better inform the public and communities across the province,” says RNAO’s Chief Executive Officer, Doris Grinspun, adding that “the winning submissions have allowed readers and listeners a window to step into the shoes of patients and health professionals in Ontario.” The Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario is the professional association representing registered nurses in Ontario. Since 1925, RNAO has advocated for healthy public policy, promoted excellence in nursing practice, increased nurses’ contribution to shaping the health-care system, and influenced decisions that affect nurses and the public they serve. For more information about RNAO, visit our website at You can also check out our Facebook page at and follow us on Twitter at -30-

Marion Zych, Director of Communications, RNAO
Cell: 647-406-5605 / Office: 416-408-5605
Toll free: 1-800-268-7199 ext. 209