Registed Nurses' Association of Ontario


Media Awards 2014

The competition is now closed.

RNAO is now accepting entries for its 2014 Media Awards competition. The deadline to submit your story is Friday, January 16, 2015. Reporters, editors and producers who have covered nursing or health stories over the course of 2014 are invited submit. RNAO members are encouraged to nominate reporters for an award.

Awards will be handed out in the following categories:


Daily newspaper
  • Best news story
  • Best in-depth feature
  • Best series
Community newspaper
  • Best news story
  • Best in-depth feature
  • Best story

*Print submissions - Please send PDF scans of the original article. Please also include a link if the story appears online.


  • Best news story
  • Best in-depth feature


  • Best news story
  • Best in-depth feature

*Radio/television submissions - Links are preferred. If you are submitting hard copies, please submit television entries in DVD format and radio entries on CD. Please include six copies of each disc.


  • Best story

Exceptional reporting on an RN/nursing issue

  • Best story
  • Entries must have been published or broadcast in Ontario during 2014.
  • There is a limit of one entry per person.
  • This competition does not include trade publications, textbooks, health-care websites, blog entries, or video/audio productions intended for health-care practitioners or audiences.
  • Materials prepared by RNAO staff or staff of health-related associations are ineligible.
  • Information in your application could be used by RNAO when publicizing the awards competition.
  • Submissions will not be returned.
  • There is no entry fee.
Submissions will be judged on:
  • Quality of writing
  • Critical analysis
  • Human interest/relevance to community